The National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE) and Public Radio News Directors Incorporated (PRNDI) are proud to offer a deadline extension for this year's entries for the Excellence in Consumer Financial Reporting Award to be presented at the PRNDI Annual Conference in St. Louis in June of 2016.

Judging PRNDI award entries as a group is an excellent opportunity for team-building and flexing editorial muscle in your newsroom. 

  • Steal story ideas! 
  • Have frank conversations about writing and story structure without making anyone cry!! 
  • Build a better vocabulary for talking about what works and what doesn’t!!!

If your newsroom would like to adopt an awards category, please contact Christine Paige Diers,

 The Annual PRNDI Awards Contest is now open for entries for those pieces that aired in calendar year 2015.  We've made a few changes to the contest this year and thought we'd outline those changes here.

PRNDI handed out 130 awards to public radio newsrooms on June 27, at the organization's annual conference in Salt Lake City. The awards included recognition for excellent journalism produced in 2014 in new arts and sports feature categories as well as or multimedia, nationally edited, and student work. The competition was fierce this year with over 1,100 entries from public radio newsrooms across the country.

KERA Series Wins Inaugural Financial Reporting Award

Jun 25, 2015

The Public Radio News Directors Incorporated (PRNDI), in partnership with the National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE), proudly announce that Courtney Collins and the news staff at KERA in North Texas have received the first-ever Excellence in Consumer Financial Reporting Award. PRNDI and NEFE will present the award to KERA at the PRNDI annual conference in Salt Lake City on June 27.

  For the second year in a row, Hindenburg Systems will be offering a special 3-year license to all of PRNDI's first-place award winners.  That's right - if you've entered the PRNDI Annual Awards contest, and you win a first place, you will get the opportunity to use Hindenburg's professional audio editing software free of charge for three years.  

The PRNDI Board is pleased to announce the 2015 recipient of the Leo C. Lee award. 

The name of this year’s winner is synonymous with public radio. Tanya Ott’s contributions to the industry are many-fold. 

And Now... Your 2013 PRNDI Award Winners!

Jun 23, 2014
The PRNDI14 Press Corps and Scholarship Winners Ann Pierret, Kayla Reed, and Sayre Quevedo, with their editor Erin Hennessey.
Amy Jeffries / PRNDI

The 2013 PRNDI Awards were distributed at the annual conference in Washington, DC on June 21, 2014. NPR's Audie Cornish was the Master of Ceremonies, but radio journalism from member stations was the star. 

Steve Spoulos / KLCC Radio

One of PRNDI’s early members and a former president of the organization is the recipient of the 2014 Leo C. Lee Award.  News Director Tripp Sommer of NPR-affiliate KLCC in Eugene, Oregon will receive the honor during the annual PRNDI conference in June.  Sommer is being recognized for a career committed to public radio journalism.

The Public Radio News Directors Inc. (PRNDI) honored  Columbia Journalism School's Godfrey Lowell Cabot Professor of Journalism John Dinges with it's Leo C. Lee Award at its annual banquet on Saturday, June 22nd.